The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been playing guitar for over 30 years but beyond changing strings, tightening tuning pegs, cleaning dead skin off of the neck, etc (regular guitar care), I have never attempted a more elaborate repair myself; preferring to leave it in the hands of a pro. However, I recently came across a beat-up Jay Turser (Jay Jr) 3/4 sized acoustic guitar with a broken peg and a raised bridge at a local thrift shop I visit (usually to find old records). 19 times out of 20 I will see something like this and it's not worth the money or repairing, however I liked the sound of it. They wanted $12, I offered $6...and they let me have it for $8 CAN...so please don't tell me to take it to a professional luthier :) I have a couple of Takamine acoustics that I will leave to the pros, but I decided to take this on as a low risk repair project.

I've done some reading and procured some granular hide glue from Lee Valley as well as 3 affordable deep throat clamps that will reach the 4 1/2 inches I need to clamp it. I've also procured a replacement white peg. I'll probably have to fashion some kind of "W" black to insert inside...I'll figure something out. I was thinking I would have to heat up a small 1" metal scraper to get the bridge completely off, but when I removed the strings and pulled out the plastic pegs (including the broken one), it came right off. It was no longer adhering in any way. I've watched a view YouTube videos since about applying the glue and clamping it down...I think I'm close to ready.