The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So a friend of mine invited us over the other night for dinner and a few drinks and sure enough it eventually had us ripping a little on some of his new toys. He's only been playing for a few months but it didn't stop him from buying the guitars of his dreams immediately and the fact that he is basically air-banding on his off the rack Gibson Les Paul, Jackson X-series warrior and a Dean Dimebag it doesn't stop him from loving it.
Anyway, it got me thinking... I've been playing the same acoustic guitar for the past 25 years and after playing the thin necks and low actions on his axes it's kind of inspired me to get something new for myself. I really like the feel of his Jackson and am getting semi-serious about dropping over a grand on a new Jackson Pro Series Soloist for myself. I can play but I'm not anything special and wondered if I'm just blowing cash for no reason or if I'm buying something that will thrill me for the next 25 years?

·
Premium Member
19,099 Posts
I really like the feel of his Jackson and am getting semi-serious about dropping over a grand on a new Jackson Pro Series Soloist for myself. I can play but I'm not anything special and wondered if I'm just blowing cash for no reason or if I'm buying something that will thrill me for the next 25 years?
If you can afford it and want to give it a try, why not get it?
You are not obligated to keep it for any duration as you can sell it (minus your "rental fee"/depreciation).

I once said to my wife that I didn't feel that my playing skills justified me getting a somewhat expensive guitar that I was admiring. Her answer was that using my "playing skills" as a criteria for purchasing the instrument was totally the wrong choice. She then informed me that if "playing skills" was my main deciding criteria, I shouldn't own ANY guitars. Very supportive!...LOL

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·