The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i know pinky planting isnt very good but when finger picking does like the same rule apply if your using your thumb and index finger to pick?

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
my middle finger on my right hand is messed up, was before i started playing, and is useless really, so i do all my fingerpicking with my thumb and index finger. actually i dont use picks much anymore, and do most of my picking this way- using a thumb and index is like having 2 seperate picks, and the edge of my hand can be used for muting and stuff.
my pinky goes wherever it wants to. i think the pinky plant paranoia is more about keeping the picking hand mobile and available- if you always play with your pinky planted then you are restrained like a dog on a leash- but if you worry about it too much then it is even worse. keep the strumming hand mobile, and if at times your pinky is sitting, ignore it if it works.
i often do it for stability when playing softer things, or certain pinch harmonics
and stuff.
also- rules are good if you are a policeman, not so good if you are a guitar player

·
Registered
885 Posts
ok i know pinky planting isnt very good but when finger picking does like the same rule apply if your using your thumb and index finger to pick?
It's all about technique and the style of guitar that you play. If you were classically trained, a fixed pinky is definitely a no no. Classically trained guitar players are trained to use their thumb, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd fingers. This was the way I was taught, and used this technique for all sorts of styles of play for years. The only draw back for me was finding a way to switch between finger picking for comping, and then a pick for a soloing within the same tune.