The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone around here doing some intermittent fasting? Just started recently, and at 17/7 pattern seems to help a lot keeping my energy levels consistent throughout the day, despite being pretty active (5 runs a week, + some pilates, strengthening, hiking and biking).

·
Premium Member
492 Posts
I've been doing it for 4 years now. Started with bulletproof coffee but moved to a 19/5 after a few months. I agree with all the energy level stuff (strength training 3 times a week), but the biggest benefit for me was not having to think about work lunches, bringing a bunch of Tupperware to the office etc. Big fan!

·
Premium Member
2,583 Posts
Is that 19 hours fasting 5 hours eating?

I might be the opposite of that, lol!

Will I lose weight even if i binge eat in the 5 hours?

·
Premium Member
492 Posts
Is that 19 hours fasting 5 hours eating?
I might be the opposite of that, lol!
Will I lose weight even if i binge eat in the 5 hours?
Yes, 19 off, 5 on. It sounds more difficult than it really is. I still drink coffee (black, nothing added) during my "off" hours. As far as binging, I'd say absolutely. During lockdown I maintained my fasting hours but ate way more snacks, chips etc and didn't gain weight but more importantly didn't notice significant changes to my physique (such a cringey word).

The science in a nutshell is that in a fasting state your body will utilize energy sources you wouldn't normally in a fed state. So even if you eat a lot, the way your body prioritizes energy sources (storage vs burning) will be different. It's an easy way to lose weight without having to actually "do" anything, give it a try!

·
Premium Member
3,540 Posts
I accidentally fell into this before it was cool - not a big breakfast guy. These days I find if I eat during the day I just feel tired and bloated.