The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
24,380 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a scientist, I'm always intrigued by explanations that point to things happening for reasons one didn't really think of, but make perfect sense post hoc.

So I was particularly intrigued by an interview with Ken Dryden this morning on CBC's The Current. Dryden was there to promote a book he wrote about Steve Montador, and how Montador's cumulative head injuries led to CTE and eventually his untimely death. Dryden came down hard on the NHL, and was actioning for a no-head-shots-EVER policy.

But the part that intrigued me was his explanation for why concussions and CTE has become the problem it has in pro hockey. He noted that in the early days of the NHL, the game was much slower. People may remember it as being fast, but it was played more slowly, with the odd burst of energy. The reason, he postulates, is that players were expected to play the full 60 minutes, as they do in soccer. Over time, that changed to ever-shortening shifts, to the point now where shifts average out around 35 or so seconds. The shorter shifts lead to players hitting the ice with more energy and speed, making the game more exciting. But it is that speed that renders hits having greater impact and being that much more dangerous over the long haul, even though equipment adaptations keep on improving, nd players themselves are not necessarily ny more brutal or reckless.

The Current for October 16, 2017

·
Premium Member
9,746 Posts
I read his article last week on the topic.
its a really complicated situation.
as much as the league likes to say that "equipment has improved" ie helmets, at the same time, its "improved" in other ways that give players more speed, and incorporates more hard plastic in equipment that turns safety equipment into a weapon.