The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an EHX Big Muff Pi today (used) at L&M as a loaner for a month ($7 nothing to lose but 2 cups of coffee or so). It's used so not the new price tag. I've been playing for over 30 years and have never even touched a fuzz pedal before. Till today. I've found a number of really good tones from playing it for maybe 15 minutes so far, and it seems to suit both of my amps (BS HT20 and a Fender BJ tweed).

I seem to recall in another Fuzz thread that somebody mentioned to plug it into a Fender tweed and go! After switching from the Blackstar to the Fender, holy shit do I know what that's about now. It sounds great in the BS, and sounds absolutely brilliant in the BJ. Night and day difference. I understand that these types of pedals are finicky depending on the placement, but I've followed the basic rule of first in line. I also quickly noted that when I turned on my OD after the fuzz, the 1st time I did it it sound terrible. But after a couple of minor adjustments to both the OD and the Muff, I could really see where this could be a very versatile pedal, especially considering some of the 60's and 70's classic rock that I love.

Would anybody that has used a Muff Pi have any suggestions regarding certain setting for particular tunes, how to fully use it with regards to 2 amps (Fender cleanish and High Gain with sweet clean channel amps). I also tried it with both amps using my Radial Big Shot ABY and the contradiction in tones was huge in a good way. Keep in mind these are pretty much VME (Virgin Muff Ears) we're talking about.

·
Registered
4,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, here's my setup if it helps:

LP and a Tele
Blackstar Amp, Fender BJ
Tuner - Fuzz - VS/XO OD - MXR 6 Band EQ - TC Flash Mini - Radial ABY

·
Registered
4,621 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Doesn't the VS-XO/OD let you patch something between the two halves?