The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

How long would it take a professional musician to harmonize a basic melody?

1K views 22 replies 12 participants last post by  mozilla2004 
#1 ·
Hey Everyone, I wonder if I can get some feedback on if I'm doing something correctly.

For the past year, I decided to learn basic music theory (like chord theory, major scales, natural minor scale, time signatures). And to practice my theory, I would find melodies I like, then try to make my own guitar arrangement of it. Guitar is my first instrument. I've been playing guitar for 2 years now. I'm self taught based on what I can find on YouTube.

Today, after 100 hours of noodling and practicing, I was finally able to make this basic 3 minute arrangement:

My arrangement is based off of the melody from this musical score here:

(from 0:35 to the end)

Too me, I feel like it's crazy that it took me 100 hours just to make my own 3 min version of this basic melody, because it's supposed to be simple right? This is how I spent my time:

10 hours - within the first 10 hours of my assignment, I figured out 80% of what notes I wanted to play

40 hours - it took roughly another 40 hours to revise the composition (eg. changing the chord voicing, changing the bass line, glissando vs. straight plucking etc...)...i also threw out a lot of stuff that I thought was frivolous that I had initially incorporated

50 hours - practice practice practice ---- I keep making mistakes with timing , fret rattling when i get sloppy, and just trying to clean up my playing (in my recording i still had to edit some mistakes in pro tools first, and I had to cheat by using a metronome drum track to help me stay on time).