The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm just getting started on my first guitar build, and am planning to build a solidbody bolt-on, from scratch, with 2 humbuckers.

I've drawn up my plans, started to cut out my templates, purchased most of the hardware, but I'm really unsure about how to go about buying my pickups. The guitar is intended for personal use, and I play mostly blues and classic rock type stuff, my main guitar being a Les Paul.

But there are so many different pickups on the market, from inexpensive (Kent Armstrong, Golden Age, etc) to high-end boutique stuff (Wolftones, etc)...how do you guys go about choosing the right pickups for your guitars? Like, have any of you built a guitar and decided that the pickups were "wrong" for the sound you were looking for?

Thanks for any input!!

·
Registered
644 Posts