The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi from Richmond Hill, ON, newbie questions here

Hello there, didn't even know there was a Canadian Guitar forum till google return this as the first hit. I have no prior guitar experience and I want to know what the best way to start:

1) Buy an electric guitar and practice on my own
2) Take some lessons to see if like playing guitar

What do you guys think, should I go for 1 or 2? Does anyone know a good place where I can purchase Guitars in Richmond Hill or online, someone sent me the following web site:
www.musiciansfriend.com

not sure if it's reputable among guitar folks. Any help will be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
17,427 Posts
Welcome to the forum !!

Do you have any friends that play guitar?...that is often a good way to get introduced to what is involved, gear, etc.

Practicing on your own is essential...but playing along with (and learning from others) is much more fun..and often much more productive.

Buying gear is always difficult when you are starting.

Do you have certain amount that you have decided on that can put towards a guitar and amp?

Have you been looking around in music stores and trying various models of guitars and amps etc.?

Do certain styles/colours of guitars (specifically)appeal to you?

What type of music appeals to you the most? (....that might influence the amp and guitar you choose.)

I would never hesitate to buy used gear (if someone who knows this stuff would help you) as there are many great deals to be had. Have a look at some of the fantastic gear that is available through this forum.

Taking lessons is always a good idea...but I'd wait for a bit and see what others suggest. You might want to try just getting to know how to play some basic chords and some strumming patterns first.

Tell us more (re: the above questions) and folks here will give you all sorts of guidance.