The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i'm just a beginner to the whole guitar scene and have been looking around for guitars and have narrowed it down to either the epiphone Les paul special II or the Ibanez GRX20. Which one do you think would be best for a starter like me. I have read really good reviews about both. I also understand that the special II comes in some form of package aswell. As for shape I kidna like both so you guys help with which would be best.

(P.S. the style of music I woudl like to play is kidna undefined, just looking for an overall type of guitar.)

Also do you think it woudl be better to buy and LP-100 instead, or am I right when im thinking to save the slighlty higher priced guitars fo rlater.

Lastly, could you suggest an amp, maybe even a pedal (cheap one im guessing XD)? I'm looking to spend around $250 or maybe $300.
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP :D

·
Registered
324 Posts
Of the 2, I'd go for the epiphone, personally, but that's just me. Do you definitely want a guitar w/ 2 humbuckers? Because otherwise, I'd consider squier strats and yamahas as well. Either way, go to a store and play they both. Is that $250-300 budget for a guitar and an amp? I'd recommend something like a roland cube or vox avt. I have a Fender 15G and it's not half bad... *shrugs* I'd hold off on the pedals until later...unless you really want one :D

·
Registered
95 Posts
Did you try both guitars or is this sight unseen?

I don't know anything about these guitars but if it was me I'd stay away from a budget beginning guitar with any type of no name tremolo system. It might not be the case with the Ibanez but in my experience, low end beginner guitars with tremolos suffer from constant tuning problems.

That being said I'd go for the Epiphone, and I betcha dollars to donuts you won't notice a stitch of difference in the quality of a $150 LP Special 2 compared to a $180 LP 100.