The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a specific kind of pick and am wondering if anyone here has stumbled across what I am looking for.

I am currently using the Dunlop Pitch Black Jazz III picks (pictured below...exactly the same as the larger Pitch Black tortex picks, but in the smaller jazz size) in .60 gauge and want something similar, but with a grippy surface like the Cat's Tongue picks. There is a Jazz III model with the grip, but those are thicker than I want and are made from a different material. I far prefer the thinner Pitch Black tortex style.

I could cut some sort of grip area into the picks that I have, but if such a thing exists it is just easier to buy them, so was wondering if anyone here had seen such a pick?

·
Premium Member
4,384 Posts
I have been recommending the Blue Chip picks since I got them 7 years ago or so now. If your issue is the grip, these picks literally sticks to your fingers even if it is smooth. I used the Jazz III picks for awhile until I found the BC picks. It is the same size, provides excellent tone and very durable. Yes it is expensive, $35US a piece, but I've not bought a pick in 7 years. You should really try at least one. I know of some folks here at GC who bought it and have been using these picks since.

This photo was from 3 years ago after I have been using the picks for 4 years. It has not changed a bit since.

·
Premium Member
17,183 Posts
I didn't know you could get jazz III's in anything smaller than a 1.00mm!

Reactions: colchar

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #7