The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm the new guy. Name is Dan, I live in a small place called Miramichi New Brunswick. I'm a welder, and airbrusher.

Looking to get a guitar and start learning. Still have no idea on what I want. Can't decide between acoustic or electric..

Anyway that's a bit about me, so I'm off to do some more reading and see where I should start...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, my friend loaned me his old acoustic to get me rolling, a Takanuru or something of that sort.

Big action on the strings, I can't hold an E chord long at all... of course I have soft fingers too, gotta build up some calouses.

Any recommendations on beginner low end stuff to start with would be great. I'm thinking a Squire if I go electric, but for acoustic I'm clueless. I had been looking at a Jay Jr from Turser. Played really well, and has built in tuner and pickup. But I hear great things about Godin, and I remember watching them being made on "How it's made" one day on discovery. Looked to be well crafted..

·
Premium Member
2,198 Posts
You in Chatham or Newcastle?

Go godin (seagull for acoustic) great bang for your buck, a giggable instument for a reasonable price. The squires are nice but the electronics and hardware lag behind the rest of the instument IMO.

·
Premium Member
16,658 Posts
Hey guys,
I'm the new guy. Name is Dan, I live in a small place called Miramichi New Brunswick. I'm a welder, and airbrusher.

Looking to get a guitar and start learning. Still have no idea on what I want. Can't decide between acoustic or electric..

Anyway that's a bit about me, so I'm off to do some more reading and see where I should start...
Dude, I was born in Chatham and lived there until I was fifteen (1975).

Best of luck with the guitar!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7