The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10,498 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't mean the occasional day working from home, but actually based out of a home office?

What were you doing? Did you like it?

·
Premium Member
2,178 Posts
I don't mean the occasional day working from home, but actually based out of a home office?

What were you doing? Did you like it?
I've been working from home for the past 15 years. I run an IT consulting business. Most of my clients are small business and not for profits. I manage networks remotely and do break/fix troubleshooting on site. I don't think I could go back to a nine to five job although eight months ago I started two nights a week doing the night audit at a local hotel/brewery. I'm phasing out some of my smaller IT clients with an eye to eventually retiring.

It is not for everyone. I miss the social interaction at times. You have to be very disciplined and at times force yourself not to play your guitars and get the work done. It is very easy to procrastinate. You have to do all your own paper work which is not fun. I have found that having a room dedicated to the job is best for me. When I go in there I am at work. If you are the sole employee holidays are few and far between.

The good parts are really good. When you have something to do in the middle of the day you can do it. This morning I'm taking my granddaughter and grandson to an orthodontist in the city. I get to spend several hours with them. Once a week my wife and I pick up my other granddaughter at her daycare and spend the afternoon with her. On a nice day I can take a break and go for a walk. Most days I play my guitars for an hour or so in the middle of the afternoon. I love the flexibility. As long as you are disciplined and get the work done you can be very flexible with when you work. I am the boss. I have a hard time doing something the way the boss wants it done when I know there is a better way.

·
Registered
10,498 Posts