The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never shipped a guitar before, but have recently had someone down in the US purchase my 339.
I'm hoping some folks with experience shipping, especially across the border could chime in.
My plan is to contact L&M and see if they have any spare boxes from guitars they've received, stick it in the case and shove 'er in. Put a bit of packing so the case can't move and sticker the hell out of it with fragile stickers.

Any other input would be appreciated.

I know I've seen threads on this before, but they were so long ago that coming up with the relevant search terms is proving a little challenging.

·
Registered
11,820 Posts
The 339 should be snug in a fitted case, but I still like to isolate the headstock with bubble wrap.
Make sure that there's no movement of the guitar within the case.

No movement of the case within the box and you should be good.

I have no experience shipping out of the country though, wouldn't you need a CITES certificate now?

·
Premium Member
1,355 Posts
As Sulphur said, it's critical to isolate and support the headstock (especially with a Gibby). I would also take some tension off the strings but not loose.

·
Registered
5,686 Posts
I have never shipped a guitar before, but have recently had someone down in the US purchase my 339.
I'm hoping some folks with experience shipping, especially across the border could chime in.
My plan is to contact L&M and see if they have any spare boxes from guitars they've received, stick it in the case and shove 'er in. Put a bit of packing so the case can't move and sticker the hell out of it with fragile stickers.

Any other input would be appreciated.

I know I've seen threads on this before, but they were so long ago that coming up with the relevant search terms is proving a little challenging.
Fragile stickers translate in UPS speak to "Kick me, drop me".:D

·
Registered
347 Posts