The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey i have been playing guitar for about 3 years now and im starting to get good well i think im pretty good... i can play pretty much all of crazy train just not the one fill... and i was thinking about taking lessons i know most people take them first or whatever but i never thought there was a point in them i didnt think they would teach me anything i would really want to know.. but anyways if you think its a good idea for me to start taking them could you suggest a place in the hamilton area that has good teachers?

·
Registered
97 Posts
ya im kinda feeling the same way.. i feel like im not learning much from just reading stuff on the internet..

or rather im starting to get lazy and i need someone to push me..

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Never took lessons in my life... with all the resources online I really don't see a point. How long I've been playing and what I can play tends to surprise people but it's 'cause I play 6+ hours of structured practice everyday.

Watch John Petrucci's Rock Discipline DVD (by watch I mean download it like me, lol)... hands down the best DVD ever made for improving technique, speed and rhythms. He explains how to make a structured practice routine, you'll be amazed how far you progress after a couple months.

·
Registered
1,910 Posts
I'm going to stand up for teachers.

No question, you can always benefit from lessons, IF you are willing to learn and practice.

There is no 'end game' to learning guitar, you will be learning your whole life.

Find a teacher that you can connect to, that will help you with what you are into right now, and you'll be miles ahead.

·
Registered
2,833 Posts