The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, fellow canadian guitarheads!

I'm a beginner on a budget, so I didn't go too crazy. Help me make some last minute changes before I click the submit button.

I would have used musiciansfriend.com, but not every item ships to canada. music123 ftw!

I

·
0 Posts
The pickups on that OLP are garbage. So is the construction. Come to think of it the neck finish is the only thing on that guitar I can find anything nice to say about. Can you swing a MiM Fender Strat or Tele instead? It's just a better bang for your buck. Gibson branded strings wouldn't be my first choice, I prefer D'Addario's. Try out a pack of EXL120s. If you can swing a few extra dollars buy a better cable, maybe a Planet Waves. And I'd buy an Epi Valve Jr. or a Fender G-DEC instead of a Spider but the Spider is not a bad entry-level amp.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Yeah. I think a MIM strat would be a good choice if you can swing it - especially used, there's some on craigslist or whatever. Have you gone to a guitar store to try guitars? I see that you live in Kitchener - there's Sherwood music and L&M in Waterloo. I too prefer D'Addario strings but *shrugs*. And I don't really have much to comment on about the amp.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Mmmkay, suggestion 1: don't actually buy from Music123. It's American I believe and you'll get nailed with those not-so-pretty brokerage fees! If you want a rough idea of prices, check out LAMusic.ca or AxeMusic.com!

Guitar, yeah like iaresee said above it's really not too good. I was thinking about getting one 'cause I figured 'Sweet, EVH -style axe on a budget.' but it's seriously terrible dude lol.

Strings, not a terrible choice but Dean Markley would be my choice (those little suckers stay bright forever and then some).