The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a beginner and am about to purchase my first guitar. I have come up with a couple of choices. My criteria include; made in North America, would really like a solid wood guitar, but price is an issue (after all does a beginner really need a solid wood guitar??:confused:, also believe i would prefer a quiter, more mellow sound. Here is list i've come up within a $400 - $450 price range.
1.Seagull S6 - $470 (new)
2. Taylor 110 - $400 (used)
3. Epiphone Masterbilt DR500-R - $400 (used)
Should note that I live in the sticks with no music store available for testing. Have tried Taylor big baby and Seagull, I liked the taylor's rich sound. Othere than that I hope you can vet my choices and maybe come up with a few i haven't researched.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Given the choice, I'd personally go with the Epi Masterbilt. Great guitars and great value for an all solid wood acoustic. They're everything a rosewood dread should be. The do have a vintage V neck though, so if that bother's you, the Taylor and Seagull are great for different reasons. If you want warmth and mellowness, the Cedar top on the Seagull sounds like a good fit.

·
Registered
874 Posts
Anything in the Godin family is what I would recommend. I own an Art and Lutherie acoustic, and for the $$$$ it was a great buy and Canadian too!

·
Registered
62 Posts
For an very first guitar... Check out Washburn D10S. Best sounding guitar for the money you'll put on. That is my opinion. Very good starter guitar. Solid top. Don't throw a lot of money on your first guitar. Some people get discouraged very quick. Buy something in the middle range and if your really like it, then offer yourself an awesome guitar.

don't forget...
PRACTICE, practice, practice, PRACTICE.....:smile:

·
Banned
1,195 Posts
the epi is a good guitar, but not made in north america, for the record.