The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to convert a 5 watt Garnet Banshee Bass into something a little more 'herzog'. I figured it would be a pretty good candidate for a 'bass-herzog' as a 5watt bass amp is a little silly, it has the same tube compliment and PT as a herzog, and the layout looks very similar aside from the EQ.

I'm very new to amps (but have done lots of guitar electronics work), and this is the first project I've undertaken trying to use schematics instead of diagrams. Having very little idea about what-does-what, I've mashed up a couple of schematics found online. I was hoping someone more knowledgeable than myself could let me know if it looks like a Herzog or bluesmokedeathmachine. My sources are all here

Here's what I've drawn from those:

Any help, tip, or suggestion is appreciated

·
Premium Member
3,304 Posts
Seems like early version Herzog vs later (which had no speaker out).

Personally I would worry a bit about running parallel speaker and line outs; make that switchable (one or the other) or use a second output tranny to isolate them (I know Garnet originally did it this way, as drawn above, but he did change that later; there was probably a reason for that since a jack and some wire is hardly much additional cost). Those are small and cheap - Hammond should still have similar ones available (the original is a Hammond). ... or better still replace with one that has 2 secondaries (not sure if such a beast exists, as regards power handling and requisite turns ratio).