The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,970 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a parallel to, and inspired by, @mhammer 's great thread (and I apologize if I'm stepping on that - not my intention, I hope that one goes on for many, many Pages {pun intended}):

I'm wondering who you didn't get early on but years, maybe decades, later you gave your head a shake and said: "Holy crap, look what I've been missing all these years." I'll start.

Jimi Hendrix - how did I not get him in the 70s. Or 80s. I sure get him now. And I love learning what I can of his. Great player, great showman, he pretty much invented a lot of what I took for granted in the 70s.

George Harrison - I thought the Beatles were a pop band. Then I started learning some of their stuff. The guy was ahead of his time - and way ahead of mine, apparently.

Finally, about a dozen killer country players. From Vince Gill to Brad Paisley (although I did always respect Chet Atkins and Roy Clark, guys I saw on TV). My arrogant rocker / anti-country blinders had me completely miss this group of players. Love 'em now - although I can still say I'm not a hardcore country fan.

You got any?

·
Premium Member
3,753 Posts
Gary Clark Jr, John Mayer (for the new blood) & Peter Green.

For the one I went "Wooh!, Really? That's awesome!" It was Billy Gibbons from ZZ-Top.
I just heard "Legs" with that repetitive rhythm tracks, and thought that was all they had.
Wasn't until a few years back that I found the older stuff.
Magic.

Sent from my other brain.

Reactions: Adcandour and Alex

·
Premium Member
3,931 Posts
Hendrix - I started getting into music in the late 70's and missed the boat. Prog and heavy rock were the genres du jour.

Johnny Winter / Rick Derringer. Similar as to above. Derringer's "All American Boy" is a great album and discovered it in the last 15 years.