The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I play acoustics but have been GASSING for an electric. I have always loved the sound of a strat. Being a novice I thought there were a handful of different models over the years. Well I now know there are a few hundred different strats and I have no idea what I am doing.
I would love some fender wisdom from the membership.
I am a novice but i don't want a cheapo that I will regret buying.
Not looking for vintage, too $$$
It seems the American made are the way to go.
Maple neck/rosewood fret-board?
Alder body?
Other then the above, I am lost.
I know zero about pick ups, tone controls, selector switches .......
What do I look for to get that "True strat" sound.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Find a strat that feels good, one that say's take me home....
Most strats have a standard config for knobs and switches, the pups can always be replaced and there is a fine selection of them out there.
If it's the original sound of the strat your looking for stick with single coils, to me HB's just don't look right on a strat. Just my opinion.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Get the Strat that puts such a grin on your face that the only way to get it off is to try smacking yourself. :) I feel that way about a few guitars but can't manage to bring them home yet.

·
Registered
788 Posts
sounds like any american standard with single coil would be right for you, there are a few used one's in the classifieds :wave:

·
Registered
43 Posts
It's been my experience that the American, then the Japanese strats are the best. I've tried several guitars from other countries and the feel, sound and attention to detail are just not there.