The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, or frowned upon here. I am not a commercial business.

I am a hobby amp builder. I like to build clone Tweed Fender style amps. I have scratch built 5F1 Champ, 5F2A Princeton , 6G2 Princeton, 5E3 Deluxe , and 5F6A Bassman models. I am thinking about the upcoming "winter amp season". This is when I get hunkered down in my basement for the cold Canadian winter, and build a few amps. Mainly for the love of it, and to stay out of the cold!

I am putting a feeler out to learn about clone amps around here. I am not soliciting nor taking orders at this time. Just seeing what the market around here in Canada is like. I am just thinking about what I should build this winter. My wife hand builds solid clear knotless pine cabs. I do the rest. We have done mainly stained cabs so far, however we are perfecting tweed cloth cab covering right now.

Disclaimer: You'll see the Fender logo on a couple amps I built for my own use, however the logo will not be used on any clone amp builds.

Here are a few pics of some amps we've built.

Here are a few cabs coming together this 2017 summer:

I am interested in your feedback. Are you finding that there is a good number of high quality replica 5E3 clone amps out there available for sale, in Canada? Are there members here, who are looking for a high quality built 5E3, made right here in Canada?

I won't list prices here, as I said they are not for sale here in this thread. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.

Again my apologies if this should be under the Dealer Emporium. I am not looking to sell here at this point. Just gather intelligence. Do I have a desirable product here for fellow Canadian members? I'll use your feedback to think about my next step.

Thanks, Keith

·
Premium Member
11,605 Posts
The good news and bad news, IMO: