The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i know there's a similar thread but it doesn't seem to answer my question.

i've got a Fender Highway 1 Strat (USA) and installed a Demarzio Fast Track 2 humbucker on the bridge. It fattens the sound alright but get this:

I also have a Yamaha Pacifica which is comparable to the Mexican Fat Strat. Not only is the sound fatter than the Fender, it is also louder. I play it through a Mesa boogie F30.

My dilemma is, I like the tone that I get with the Yamaha because the humbucker has more distortion and I would play that instead, but the sound quality isn't there so I want to keep playing the Fender.

I'm new to electric guitars so I don't know pickups very well. Can anyone recommend a new set of pickups for me that will increase the output volume, allow me to get a fat distorted tone on the bridge yet still maintain the Strat sound on the mid and neck positions?

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I tried raising my pickups and it sort of works but I lose the sustain because of the magnetic pull. I'm positive that they're set to where they're supposed to be.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Hinrich said:
I tried raising my pickups and it sort of works but I lose the sustain because of the magnetic pull. I'm positive that they're set to where they're supposed to be.
yeah, start at 1/4 inch on each side. lower the bass side if you want more treble, lower the treble side if you want more bass

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's not an issue of how loud it is, I want to replace my humbucker to fatten the sound similar to my PAC. The humbucker I am using in my strat is a Dimarzio Fast Track 2, the single coil sized version. I am assuming that the reason my Pacifica has a heavier sound is because teh humbucker is the double size. Is this true?

·
Registered
1,113 Posts