The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been playing the past week with medium gauge 11 to 52 on my 52 Tele. I found my self getting used to it. As I've been playing acoustic exclusively with 13-56 for that past 2 years I've worked up quite a bit of strength in my fingers.
But for some techniques that I'm used to doing that require more finesse than strength I found it awkward. Mainly for things on the top 3 strings. I had a set of 10-46 on briefly for a couple days but it just seemed to be too flexible and loose. So I figured I'd try a set of strings that were light on top and medium on bottom. But finding that locally proved to be hard. The closest D'addario had was light on top and heavy on bottom. 10, 13, 17 then on bottom 30, 40, 52. They also have a medium set thats a tad lighter on the bottom. 11, 14, 18 and bottom 28, 38, 49. So what I thought I'd do for an experiment as buy both sets and utilize 10, 13, 17 from one set to the 28, 38, 49 of the other set.
When I got home I thought I'd try the light top, heavy bottom as is first. the bottom sounded great but to me the feel was so unbalance. I felt it was to much contrast between the top and bottom. This is a set D'addario has packaged together so lots of players must like it. So I took the bottom 3 strings off and put on the 28, 38, 49 from the other set.