The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone here played some Engl amps?
I know the have some high gain monsters in their line up but I am more curious about the Richie Blackmore/Artist edition/Artist edition 50watts.

They seem really nice and since one of the guy in Power Trip is playing them without any pedal, they seem to deliver.

·
Premium Member
9,794 Posts
Had a Steve Morse I shouldn't have sold off, was a great amp but owned it during a time I was churning a lot of amps....and mostly my kids used it in their hard rock band, the band broke up, the amp gathered dust, went to fund something else.

·
Premium Member
18,576 Posts
They arent as known for the blackmore sig, i know that. Some people love their fireballs, powerballs and invaders. Someone in the gta sat on his FS for a long time. Not so common in north america, being a german company.

I have no personal experience with any of them. One come up near you, or more of an info thing?

·
Premium Member
4,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
More of an info thing.
Never saw one in person and in the same day I saw a "show your gear" video with Power Trip and some showcase by Ola Englund with Engl amps.

I think the middle of the road gain ones soind really great (in videos anyway)

·
Premium Member
9,794 Posts
Yeah, the Steve Morse is 3 channels, from low to high gain....a very diverse and good sounding amp. Lots of extra 'mids' tweakability.

·
Premium Member
858 Posts
I've owned the following:

E320 Thunder 50 Reverb
E530 Tube Preamp
E570 Special Edition Preamp
E610 Savage 120
E625 Fireball
E645 Powerball 2
E650 Ritchie Blackmore Signature
E656 Steve Morse Signature

My favorite was the Blackmore, second favorite was the Steve Morse
Most of their amps sound very processed, compressed and not very natural; kind of like a recorded tone (some people will like that)