The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone:

first post here. nice to see a canadian forum for guitar stuff. will be surprised if anyone responds as Vancouver is playing hockey right now!

question here - i've been practicing with an acoustic for about 2 months and love it. however, i've also noticed that i've enjoyed the sound of electric on some songs that i wouldn't have listened to until i became interested in guitar. now, my knowledge of electric guitars is modest at best. i went to steve's today in toronto and played around with a godin electric (about $599) that has something called a soabbox (?) and plugged it into a 15 watt roland amp.

i noticed a significant amount of buzzing. the sound just wasn't clean either. when i asked the worker there, she said that it could be the result of the poor wire, the fluorescent lights, or the soapbox, which will produce that kind of buzzing (i think this is the same as the PRS SE guitar that is relatively new).

what i'm looking for here is just a clean sounding electric that i can play in my apartment (not loud of course). i'm not looking for distortion at all. this time with this guitar left me a little less interested in electrics. i like blues and if you listen to Robert Cray's "poor johnny" you will know what kind of sound i like.

did i just have a bad setup or is this expected for this type of guitar/amp?

any advice/suggestions, no matter how simple, is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Paul

·
Registered
652 Posts
Epiphone Les Paul standard is great for blues.
Fender G-Dec Amp is a great teaching tool as well. :food-smiley-004:
Buy used to save $$!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
she said it was a cheap cable. i guess i could go back and ask to try it with a better cable.

could it be the soapbar pickups on this? should an electric guitar be able to play clean notes without all the buzz?