The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3,533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently picked up a pair of El Degas Les Pauls. One I’m just going to reassemble and see if I can make it work/play and turn it out for a couple bucks or trade for something.

The other (black custom) will be the basis of this thread. I’m going to fix it up the best I can and give it to my son. I’m not too experienced in guitar tinkering, more like kamikaze lutherie and I hope some of you good folks could offer some advice. The first thing I’m going to do is take the guitar to my tech and get his opinion on whether this is worth my efforts. Not in terms of value, but whether the bones of it are solid enough. Aesthetically it’s rough but the body and neck are mahogany and the paint and binding are all good and intact. The frets have very minimal wear, but I don’t trust my eye on the neck.

In the meantime, I’m going to start researching this thing. Does anyone know what years El Degas produced les Paul’s with the pre lawsuit, open book headstock? I’m thinking early 70’s.

Also, I have an old Duncan Distortion bridge pickup I’d like to use. Does anyone know if I can buy gold covers for it?

I’d also like to keep the original bridge and tailpiece if there’s a way of replating them at reasonable cost. Does anyone know of any such services? If not, replacement it will have to be.

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
17,317 Posts
Also, I have an old Duncan Distortion bridge pickup I’d like to use. Does anyone know if I can buy gold covers for it?
Congrats on getting these guitars!

The covers for (some of ) the Seymour Duncan pickups were proprietary in the past. Just a warning. Yes, I did learn that the hard way....LOL

I'd be happy to do any of the electronics for you, my friend.

Good Luck on getting these guitars "restomodded".

·
Premium Member
3,332 Posts

Awesome!
So, the “keeper” is on the left or right? (Please say left, good locker there!)