The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, I'm somewhat new around here, been in and out for a few weeks I guess. I'm also new to guitars, been playing only 1 year. Got a question .....

What does it mean that an Amp has a built in effects loop, if you want to use any effect pedals or processors, do you need the effect loop in your amp.

I'd like to add a pedal or two but I don't even know what to do or what I need, besides another cord. I have a Marshall MG30DFX but it doesn't have built in effects loop, can I still use a pedal, wah pedal or even digitechs RP series processors?

Thanks to anyone that responds,

JiMBo

:food-smiley-004:

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
jimbo_francis said:
Hi Guys, I'm somewhat new around here, been in and out for a few weeks I guess. I'm also new to guitars, been playing only 1 year. Got a question .....

What does it mean that an Amp has a built in effects loop, if you want to use any effect pedals or processors, do you need the effect loop in your amp.

I'd like to add a pedal or two but I don't even know what to do or what I need, besides another cord. I have a Marshall MG30DFX but it doesn't have built in effects loop, can I still use a pedal, wah pedal or even digitechs RP series processors?

Thanks to anyone that responds,

JiMBo

:food-smiley-004:
Different effects should go in different positions in the signal path.

Boosts and gain/distorition/fuzz pedals can go before an input of an amp. But time based effects, ie chorus, delay, flange, reverb sound best after any gain stages (internal or pedal based).

A tube amps effect loop is after any internal gain stages. It's usually where you want to put your time/modulation/reverb effects.

You'll need 2 cables, 1 to go from the Effects send on your amp to your pedal(s) and one to return back to the Effects return jack.

Jeff

·
Registered
1,348 Posts