The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,740 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...i've noticed that when i play my (home demo) cd against a commercial release, i don't measure up volume-wise.

i have a feeling a lot of guys actually have mastering software on their computer.

is this something i should consider?

-hermit

·
Registered
255 Posts
I use Isotope 3 which is very user friendly. It comes with a loudness maximizer, eq, mastering reverb, multiband compresion, harmonic exciter, and multiband stereo widener. The Loudnes maximizer will definitley achive more volume out of your tracks. I highly recommend this program..

·
Premium Member
16,653 Posts
I'm no engineer, but the impact of mastering to my ears is much more than mere volume.

It's definitely more punchy, but also much more clear and present. The sound sparkles for lack of a better word.

If you have or can get the software needed to master a recording without too much expense, I wouldn't hesitate to do it on ANY recording.

·
Registered
5,740 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Jeff Flowerday said:
Mastering software is pretty much a must if you want to get the volume up to commercial levels.
Trying it any other way just lead to digital clipping and frustration.
...ain't that the truth!

i have a friend in etobicoke (ken o'gorman, cousin of brian greenway of april wine) who has offered to do the mastering. ken has impeccable taste, so i look forward to the results.

-dh

·
Registered
217 Posts
Mr. Severson
Re Ozone 3 I just took a look at the site and to me the whole thing looked really complicated. What I believe I need is Mastering For Idiots.
At this moment I can barely use properly a Tascam 8 track. I am not very computer savy and in fact opted for recording hardware instead of going the computerized software route because of my computer ignorance. Plus with a limited number of years left in my life I didn't want to spend half of whats left reading a manual.