The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not very experienced with the specific processes and work that accompanies restoring vintage guitars. My lack of knowledge is unfortunately quite problematic, as there is certain information I require in order to follow through with a purchase I may be making in the near future.

I am hopefully purchasing a mid 60s Gibson Melody Maker from someone, but the guitar has had work done on it.

The neck of the guitar has been restored/repainted, and so has the pick-guard. This makes it more affordable but also makes me a tad skeptical. Due to the age and restoration, certain things like the serial number and the logo are no longer there, and the Gibson mark on the neck was taped around for the sake of refinishing (looks a tad dodgy to me, and sorry for the run-on).
He has referred me to the Luther who restored the guitar, and the shop seems rather legit which gives me certain confidence.

Here is the guitar:
https://imgur.co m/a/PfHux

My question is: can anyone give me any information of what I should be looking for, and does the restoration job look legitimate in the photos bellow? I am not completely sure I am getting a fair deal, and it isn't some modern Epiphone with measures taken to cover the fact up.

·
Registered
3,533 Posts
I'm no expert on these guitars, but it does look from the 60's. The one bridge post doesn't look right to me though.
Looking forward to this thread - and welcome

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Geco, I have yet to figure out all the ins and outs of this forum's format (though considering its simplicity, that's not much of an excuse...).