The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 120 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, the reason I ask is, this is my first time out. I've had people tell me we should, or we have to, and others who say we don't have to do covers. I'd like some intake from people who have been out there and done that, as the people i've spoken to haven't been there. My aspirations would be to do all originals as we write our own songs, but if we have to play covers to get things kicked off we will. Any advice?:confused-smiley-010

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
We all do what we gotta do...

Rattlesnake said:
Well, the reason I ask is, this is my first time out. I've had people tell me we should, or we have to, and others who say we don't have to do covers. I'd like some intake from people who have been out there and done that, as the people i've spoken to haven't been there. My aspirations would be to do all originals as we write our own songs, but if we have to play covers to get things kicked off we will. Any advice?:confused-smiley-010
Whatever gets you a gig!

There's always seemed to be more gigs available for cover bands than for those doing originals. The downside is that doing covers caps your growth. You can only go so far as a cover band, unless you manage to become a well-paid tribute band.

A cover band is a "juke box". You're providing the music for the party! You can do that in a bar with originals as well, of course but most bar owners I know won't likely book an unknown band playing originals, at least not for any money. You need to either have a rep already established or an agent who either has a good rep of his own or a great line of BS, or both!