The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Anyone here fairly good at using DADGAD on an acoustic? This is my first serious foray into alternate tuning on guitar, so even though I have 30 years playing experience, I've stuck to standard tuning. My understanding is that it works especially well with fingerstyle, which I'm pretty good at. My taste leans into Page who has used it on a number of occasions, and it's also used by Mikael Akerfeldt in a number of Opeth tunes, amosgst many other well known artists.

I've tuned one acoustic (Seagull S6) to this just now and have been pissing around a bit, but I NEED STRUCTURE and ideas. I really haven't researched any common chord shapes or finger patterns yet, so I'm hoping some of you guys, especially the old farts, can chime in with some stuff you've found over the years. I'm not opposed to learning a few covers to get started, but I'm on an original kick right now (as always actually), so I need to know and understand it as well.

Any help you guys can afford is greatly appreciated!

·
Premium Member
11,084 Posts
Bensusan has a pretty good instructional book, likely still available from his website. I attended a workshop he conducted in 2001, it was quite enlightening even though I'd been using the tuning for years. I've just recently started using it again after years of neglect, but mostly to create my own stuff rather than play the music of others.

·
Registered
4,620 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)