The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all. I'm new here and relatively new to guitar building. I normally hang out in the MLP forum but just found this Canadian forum and am pretty happy about that, as I am Canadian. I live in Hamilton ON.

I've probably built 6 or 7 full guitars and 8 or 10 guitar kits in various forms. I am a hobby builder and build for friends and people I meet online mainly to finance my addiction for wood working equipment and guitar building.

This is a custom build for a fellow forumite on MLP. As the title suggests, his name is Archey. He contacted me with a design in mind and we worked together to complete a kit guitar for him to finish up.

Here is the design -
tremolo_PUP03.JPG

We played around with this for a while until it was to Archey's liking then went straight to 3d in Fusion 360, which is my CAD / CAM software of choice lately.

top -
new_update_2018-Aug-06.jpg

back -
new_update_2018-Aug-06_back.jpg

I had some help with some of the advanced 3d modeling but once that was done creating renderings, drawing files, and CAM toolpaths are actually quite simple. Here are the related construction drawings from Fusion 360.

Cheers Peter.

·
Premium Member
3,852 Posts
Wow, I think that is the first time I have seen a guitar with the grain running diagonally. Looks really nice. You should put the output jack right where the circle is in the woodgrain on the lower bout. :D

·
Premium Member
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Here is the rough lumber I purchased for this build. This is the upside of having a decent workshop. I can buy cheaper rough cut lumber. Although the wenge was anything but cheap.
wood01.jpg

I will slip match the two piece body and book match the wenge for the top.
wood03.jpg

Jointed, Planed, thicknessed and glued up the body -
wood04.jpg

resawed the top -
wood05.jpg