The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
If you don't like details, this thread is unlikely to be for you. If you relish them, carry on ...

I recently had what was a new weird experience for me. As background, I am an amateur, primarily basement player. Tried not to become a collector, but failed -- very lucky to have really nice gear, will need a decade of New Year Resolutions to simplify my collection (better start soon). Also, I am a relative newcomer to high gain sound that actually sounds good -- I didn't have enough skill to make it work in the past at all, even though I love heavy stuff amongst almost every other music style, but I seem to be finally discovering how to make it work now.

My gear sounds nice individually. Sometimes better than other times. Sometimes really quite awesome (I am looking at you, the Marshall 50th Anniversary 1W amps :)), sometimes sadly disappointing. But here is what recently happened ... the following completely unintentional and accidentally-occurring setup resulted in unbelievably awesome tone. If I vary anything below, it is still really good (plus or minus), but with this exact setup, it is really simply magical in my playing environment:
  • GUITAR: AmStd Strat, non-stock all Lace Sensor pickups pickguard, on Lace Red bridge pickup, tone rolled off a little over 1/2 way, volume full; this guitar wasn't likely going anywhere, great all around, but if I could take only one from a burning house, this would not be it; but now ...
  • AMP: Mojave Coyote head, very specific set of control settings; this head has fairly unconventional controls; it's not hard to make it sound very very good, but these settings for this specific signal chain ... I don't even want to breathe around the controls in case I change something from this amazing sound ...