The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well like the title says this about clean guitar tone, leave the od's etc out of the picture thing. I had the pleasure of playing with my band mates, a drummer and a bass player at the town Arts Festival this past weekend. It was a good weekend with plenty of local talent. There were three stages around town and various venues were offered at these stages. We played at the main stage and to give a little background we've only been a band officially now for three weeks. We played our set and ever since I started playing a Sheraton I have found I really just like the sound of the guitar through my amp. Just tubes and a little boost or OD once and a while. We pulled off the set and survived.... This said as I watched the rest of the acts over the weekend I noticed in most of the bands the guitar players used there od's/dist etc almost constantly especially in solos. Also over the weekend I had a several people come up to me and comment on how good we sounded and the tone of my guitar. It's nice to kick it up and wail once and a while but it's also nice to pull it off with just the guitar ringing out it's sweet tone ...

·
Registered
788 Posts
I hear ya...just got back from jam night at the bar, used my peavy on the clean channel and boosted leads with an overdrive with gain at zero, sounded great with my strat :food-smiley-004:

·
Premium Member
13,062 Posts
My idea of clean is tele thru a fender twin.

·
Premium Member
16,682 Posts
Personally, I let the song dictate how clean or dirty the solo tone should be.

If it's Long Cool Woman I play it super clean with a bit of slap back.

If it's Mississippi Queen, I put some hair on it.

Pretty simple really.

My idea of clean is similar to Robert 1950's although I would add a Roland JC120 as an option.

·
Registered
37 Posts