The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I'm considering grabbing a '72 Telecaster Deluxe RI. After reading many reviews on it, some people weren't too happy with the pickups. One point is that the original '72 pups had 500k or 1meg pots, while the RI ones have 250k.

Has anyone changed these in a guitar before? I can figure out basic soldering and stuff, but I'd like to see a very descriptive guide for what I'm doing you know! Does this change make a large difference in tone when you're only turning the tone and volume knobs or is it a change in tone when the knobs are at 10?

Also, is there like a genuine Fender pot available? Where and what brand of pots should I buy?

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,833 Posts
I'm a relative novice at it but I've done quite a few mods to guitars, pedals and even an amp.

I would personally, choose a pickup get the appropriate pot (250K for a single coil or 500K for a humbucker) and go to it. It's pretty easy as long as you are comfortable with soldering. The only choice you'll have to make is the capacitor on the tone pot.

As far as pots go, I would stick with CTS pots - sold as AllParts at L&M etc...

One of many opinions I'm sure. Good luck with the project. It's addicting.

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
When any pot (at least every one I've ever seen) is wide open, it is is a piece of wire (the carbon has no effect).

The value of the resistance will determine the amout of 'fade' you get when you turn the knob up or down (between open and off). The type of pot (logrythmic or linear) determines the 'fade rate' (we hear logarithmicly, therefore logrythmic pots should be used for audio faders).

For a tone control, you basically have an RC network with a variable resistor. If you change the value of the variable resistor, you may have to also change the value of the capacitor to get what you are after.