The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can anyone out there provide some guidance on purchasing a new acoustic guitar? I am relatively new to the guitar playing world. I am in lessons for the past year and I am improving but I am not well versed. What fits someone with my skill level? Is there something I should stay away from?

For the past year I have been playing a Martin DX1RAE acoustic. It was a nice guitar and fairly easy to play. However, I just sold it today and I am ready to upgrade. I found the body of the guitar to be a little large, and it wasn't really comfortable for me. When I bought it I didn't know it was uncomfortable, because I had never played before!

I went to the guitar shops and tried out a lot of guitars, but I don't have a clue what to get. I was going to get a lower end Gibson, but I was told that I should stay away from the Gibson's unless I am willing to go at least to the J45 STD. J45 and above is good, but anything below that to stay away from.

I have it narrowed down so far to the Martin OMCPA4, Taylor 314CE STD or the 2016 J45 STD Vintage.

1 thing to note is I want a guitar that has a gloss finish. My last one had a satin finish and it was a pain in the butt. One little scuff and it showed up.

Anyone have any advice? I will be paying $2000.00 + so I want to make sure I am not buying something that it difficult to play, not constructed well, or is meant for advanced players!

·
Premium Member
3,316 Posts
It's a tough one to answer and boils down to personal preference. My favorite body style is the OM, and for tone, I am in the Martin camp of acoustics - I find the Taylor's a little too bright for my liking but this is completely subjective. Play the 3 models you listed over a few days ( if you can), bring a friend to have an extra pair of ears - in the end, go with the one you feel more comfortable with (sound, playability and overall vibe).

·
Registered