The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
is one of the most rewarding hobbies I do. I mean, I have a lot of hobbies - but I think building a guitar and then getting to play it whenever you want, is a very cool think I can't really put into words. I am not an artsy guy or trying to be all spiritual or anything... but I dont get the same vibe when I play one of my PRS,s or my Fender Tele, etc that I get when I play one of my own.

Man I have said it before, and I will say it again... if you are on the fence about trying a build - just go for it. WIth the books available today and the advice you can get online, its not impossible.

AJC

·
Registered
247 Posts
Agreed. I'm playing more now then ever and it's the bass " I " built. I have parts on order for my next and can see building again after that.:rockon2: :banana: :food-smiley-004:

·
Registered
58 Posts
As a builder I know what you mean. Have you seen that commercial about the guy makeing a guitar and then sitting back seeing his guitar being played on stage? That I can relate to big time.

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
cougar2 said:
As a builder I know what you mean. Have you seen that commercial about the guy makeing a guitar and then sitting back seeing his guitar being played on stage? That I can relate to big time.

Yeah, that budweiser commercial, right? I get it too - having built a guy who gigs a lot around here a guitar last summer, and having it become his main axe. But I am talking more about me playing my own gear.

I see so many guys who would like to try it that just are not sure where to start.... I always say buy a book or two (I actually go to the music section every time I am down at chapters in the city, and check out the guitar books.. there are a number of excellent build books out now) and try it. You have to start somewhere.

AJC

·
Registered
45 Posts