The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What would you recommend as far as speaker configuration if you where building an extra cab for a Champ?. Would you recommend two 8in speakers, two 10in. or two 12 in. or just one 12in?
This is a 4 ohm load so assume wiring series parallel two 8ohm speakers to keep it 4 ohms. Thinking about building one.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
17,329 Posts
Totally personal preference. I am not an expert in cabs and speaker combinations, but I have tried a few configurations through time. In addition, all of these comments are as a hobby player with limited skills and playing mainly 'clean'.

Portability: The 2 x 12' I had was just too large and heavy.

Cone surface area for sound production, volume etc:
A 2 x 10" and 1 x 12" are similar and I think they are a reasonable choice.
Of those choices, I would go with the 1 x 12" as it would be easier and less expensive to experiment with various speaker choices.

I am using a 1 x 10" cab for my basement playing space. It is certainly loud enough and seems more clear/articulate than a 1 x 12". Admittedly, the room where I play always seems "boomy" to me. Many others that I talk to just don't find that a 1 x 10" does anything for them. The cab I bought is a converted 1 x 12" combo amp ($40.00 on Kijiji) and I made a 1 x 10" reducer ring for it. That would be another advantage for considering a 1 x 12".

The 2 x 8" just seems like a lot of work for a limiting cab size. In addition, the most significant factor for not doing this (IMO) is that the speaker selection (both new and used) is somewhat limiting. You could build a 1 x 12" size cab and make it so that it will accept various baffles. You could then try a 2 x 8" (or possibly a 4 x 8").

Cab design (i.e., closed back, ported, convertible back, interior dimensions, materials used, etc) is a rabbit hole unto itself.

I prefer open back and a somewhat larger sized cab.