The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,012 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone use GFS pickups by GuitarFetish.com for budget guitar projects? I was thinking of a pair of these for my Jaguar Blacktop HH. I can suffer from klutzitis, so I want to start low priced in case I bugger things up.

Dream 90 Black Bobbin with Nickel Case

·
Premium Member
13,012 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This is the guitar (phone pix) I am thinking about using them on....

Reactions: benjammin420

·
Premium Member
16,623 Posts
what's your budget? I'd suggest used duncan or dimarzio before GFS, mostly because I have no personal experience with GFS.

·
Registered
24,123 Posts
While one can't tell an enormous amount from the DC resistance of the coil, the model Dave/Greco describes seems to have been highly overwound, while the other ones linked to, at just over 8k, wouldpromise a more "open" sound, more compatible with what folks buy Fenders for.

·
Premium Member
13,012 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
If I had the money,..... I'd get these Vineham Hum Dogs. HB sized P90s - $190 Cdn per set.

They gotta look right on this guitar.

·
Registered
2,780 Posts
They are good for budget...i have the mean 90 and a classic 67(i think) tele pickup...the dont sound terrible

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
You could buy just one for now to get you started.
I think I am going to order a Vineham Sweet 59 humbucker to see how much I like it before shelling out for a pair. A single pickup costs less than an inexpensive pedal so why not. The GFS stuff gives me the impression that it will ultimately just turn out to be money that should have been spent on something better in the first place.

TG

·
Premium Member
167 Posts
I tried a set of similar (Bezdez/ebay) in a LP clone for a while. I pulled them out when a trade opportunity (guitar) came up. They're 8.0K/8.8K and were cheap.
White pearloid instead of black coil top. At the time I used stock 500K pots and .022 caps.