The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I'm new to the board and I hope this message won't be considered spam. I started playing the guitar two years ago after my kids have gotten older an left me with a bit more time, and I've been totally struck by the blues bug.

I would like to get together with some other simliar adult beginners, and collectively hire a blues player to come in and teach us some blues, answer questions, and help us learn to play and jam together. My plans are very open, but I can see it becoming a "club". I considered just buying lessons at a local music academy, but I think I would prefer not to sit in a waiting room with 8 year olds if I don't have to. :smile:

I've outlined my plan in the web page I've setup here: http://www.byoblues.com. I live in Oakville Ontario, and we could use some spare space I have in my office - also in Oakville. My plans are open, and I'm very open to suggestions. Everything I've read and heard says that you can learn faster in a group - and its funner, and would be a cool night out every couple of weeks.

If you're interested, or you think you may know someone who might be, please visit the link for more details and send me a note.

Thank you moderator for letting me post here - and please move this to whatever forum may be more appropriate for this topic if necessary. :food-smiley-004:

·
Premium Member
13,057 Posts
I'm on the other side of Toronto in Durham Region. In the 60s and 70s I was mainly a rhythm player. Then I quit for about two and half decades or so and restarted about a year and a half ago, I haven't played with anyone since 1978. Right I play along with backing tracks or just noodle around. My rhythm work isn't were it used to be, but my solos are definitely better (but still suck)

I might be able to swing the twice a month , but week days would be out of it - I work in downtown T.O. and commute by GO Train.