The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, it's not quite shopping spree time, but.. planning for shopping spree time. I need some advice on a new amp (then, exactly what guitar I want might be more clear-- people have told me the amp is more important to your sound than the guitar)... I still feel a little green on all this, so it'd be nice to get a little feedback/reassurance. So excuse me while I explain my situation, and sorry for the length:

1) I’ve been playing for six months (I've done music for longer though), and I’ve a squire fat strat and the frontman practice amp that came with it.
Jumping into home recording soon, so I'd like a higher end rig.
--I'd prefer to not outgrow my gear in a few years (like I am w/ my squier).. but if that’s unavoidable, hopefully the resell value's solid-- so I think "high end" gear would be a good idea.
--I can also grow into a higher end rig—I'm not viciously picky about tone yet, but I may as well get a good rig and explore it. But yeah, bottom line is if it sounds good to me, then I'll get it.

2) The sounds I like: Alice In Chains, Tool, A Perfect Circle, Queens Of The Stone Age, Smashing Pumpkins. In general: Thick, heavy, distorted, but still mellow, with some dreamy psychedelic tones too. I like fusion, but I'll go one step at a time. Those bands in mind, I'm thinking a Les Paul axe.

3) My current budget for a guitar AND amp is ~$2500-3k. If it's something that's solid re-sell value and quite useful, I could possibly go higher, I think. Budget's not set in stone, but just to give you an idea.

And... I was also curious what other folk thought of the Edmonton used market.. I haven't looked that long or know enough to compare with other cities :p But used would be ideal so I'm looking around.

Now the gear:

1) The amp (been told again and again that it’s most important for your sound).