The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,
im new to the board and new to the world of guitars. this is yet another "which guitar for me." please dont go too hard on me, i appreciate all advice.

simply put, im a student with little money, but with a passion for the music. ive been playing around with my friend's acoustic for a while, but im ready to get my own electric.

my budget is limited, looking around $300 for both a guitar and an amp. ive looked for used online, havent checked in pawnshops yet, though, as i have little time to do so. ive been looking around on lamusic.ca for simple price quotes, and have a few configurations in my mind.

the setup that im very attracted to is the epiphone sg special player pack;
http://lamusic.ca/default.asp?szNav=Product&PID=252
from harmony central reviews, it seems the sg special is a good starter, and it comes with a 10w amp, which i believe will be fine for me to learn on. i dont intend to do any gigs or performances.

thanks for all the help.

JLuser

·
Registered
260 Posts
Get a guitar with good tuners , and no double locking tremolo . Try before you buy , because in this price range there is more to chances for quality control issues . And you should look for a used guitar , because you could get a better guitar for your money .

·
Premium Member
2,968 Posts
Buy the best guitar you can afford first, skip the amp until later. Use a Zoom 505 as your amp. You can get one for about $25-40 and run the guitar thru headphones. Starter packs blow chunks.................

·
Registered
652 Posts
Go for it, bro! You can upgrade l8r when ya got more $$$.
The Guitar Shop across from LA has some good deals too.
The Jackson Dinky hardtail is fair. If you can play through your computer & headphones you won't need an amp right away.
Spend the $$ on a good used guitar first..then get the amp later.
I love the Epiphone Faded SG for a first guitar!

·
Registered
131 Posts