The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started learning bar chords and the side of my pointer finger gets destroyed after trying to perfect them for a while. Does this part of my finger get hard like my finger tips or is it always just a pain to play them alot?

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,138 Posts

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
First, I fear you have an action (strings too high) problem. How high are the strings over the first fret ? If you can place a dime (or even a nickel !), it is too high and need too much strenght and that causes pain to your index finger.
Not sure ? Place a capo at first fret and try a bar chord next fret : much easier ? It proves a need for adjustment.

You may also try to roll the index a bit backward : this adds a bit of strenght from the finger joints.

L

·
0 Posts
Keep in mind that you don't have to have string to fret contact on all the strings with your index finger.

upload_2018-12-13_19-58-34.png

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Great advice guys!! The action I believe is set right. The bridge is almost to low now, as the 6th string will rattle if I strum it to hard. Pulling the bar towards my body as if bending the guitar in half seems to really help with a clean tone. I'll keep working on that. Excellent thank you everyone. I'm open to anymore advice as well! Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
371 Posts
Also the thumb can be in a variety of position relative to your chord forming. Do not force anything especially as someone said above . That can cause some serious long term pain

·
Registered
15,180 Posts

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
What Hammerhands said. For what it's worth, when I was learning bar chords I learned, "I'd love to change the world"; all bar chords picked chromatically just moving up the neck, was great practice. (and yes, I am that old. :( )

You'll get it.

·
Premium Member
12,559 Posts