The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright heres myy story, im the guitarist of my band, and my bassit always puts me down, saying that i suck at guitar all the time, and that hes always better than me at everything, at music,at guitar, at singing, (even though he cant sing) hes the bassit of the band, and hes like this, he has to be the best at everything even though hes been playing bass for about 2 years. He also does the same to my drummer in the band. But for the singer/guitarist in my band he doesnt say anything because hes good. For me im a decent guitarist, not the best, but decent...im just so fed up with my bassit, what do you guys think?

·
Registered
54 Posts
Music's a team sport and must be played with that in mind if you want to be bigger than what three or four slugs can accomplish on their own.
Bad attitude is such a drag and will definitely sink the band eventually.
My opinion is you need to decide whether this guys bad attitude is worth swallowing for the sake of the band if he's that frickin' stupendous, or if you should bring this up with the other members and see where they stand.
Could mean you lose a job, but these things never get better until one or both of you go away.
Even if the guys a superstar in the making, he can't do it by himself. A jackass will burn all bridges as he goes, so my thought is put your head down and keep swinging. Be the best you can be, take care of your parts, be sharp always and keep your ears open. Leave lots of room for the other players to move around in the song and pick your spots to shine.
Guys with too much arrogant attitude always feel the need to be front and center all the time and leave no space for anyone else, this gets exposed very quickly and isn't what real music is all about.
If your band doesn't see this then your better off moving on IMNSHO.
Only my two cents of course...

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
in one sentance.... GET RID OF HIM.