The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was changing tubes in my Marshall SV20H recently and ran into a new question. I found that one of the ECC83's is a Phase Splitter (or Phase Inverter) and is supposed to be balanced. I changed the other two pre-amp tubes and left that one in until I understand what's involved.
I'm not too technical about electronics, as you can tell ... is it as simple as ordering a balanced tube from tubestore (my source)?
What exactly gets verified before a single tube is designated 'balanced'?

·
Registered
1965 Fender Mustang, Ampegs, anything to test an amp.
1,050 Posts
I found that one of the ECC83's is a Phase Splitter (or Phase Inverter) and is supposed to be balanced.
The PI tube doesn't necessarily need to be balanced however, the signals feeding the grids of the power tube should be balanced unless you desire harmonic distortion which many guitar players strive for. Usually passive components in the PI, can be tweaked to obtain a balanced condition. An oscilloscope should be used to balance the input and outputs of the output tubes...a visual measurement of the signal's amplitude...the output transformer may be imbalanced too.

·
Premium Member
1,283 Posts
Don't sweat it too much.
The output tubes require one signal to be inverted in phase, thus the phase inverter stage is needed. Marshall typically uses a configuration that uses both halves of the ECC83 tube. The signal coming out of each half (at the plate) should be the same amplitude to drive the output tubes the same. So theoretically for lowest distortion, and maximum power these halves should be gain matched. However as Paul alluded to there are passive components, possibly the output transformer and output tubes that can throw this balance off. How badly, probably not very much, and probably not what you want in a guitar amp anyway.

·
Registered
1,782 Posts