3,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking of "rolling my own"

anyone here put one together yet? got any pics? if so, would love to see them

thx!!

·
Registered
316 Posts
I haven't done a strat but I did an ash tele a couple of years ago, still have it. I spent about 3 months gathering parts. Several body makers on the net as you probably know. Some good companies to deal with are Allparts, a lot of their necks and bodies come from Japan I believe. guitarpartsresource.com is another great source for parts. The necks from Allparts have the vintage tint and the frets appear to be a little tougher than the ones on Fender guitars. Just my opinion here, I had a Standard Tele and wore some divits in the frets after 6 months. My son and I have been playing the Allparts neck for over two years now and no wear on the frets yet. The finish on the Allparts bodies and neck are excellent. Some good dealers on ebay are reliablefender, n.aalox(sp?). I got my pickups from Kinman but there are plenty more great manufacturers to choose from. The only problem I had with my build was the neck pocket on the body. Allparts didn't cut the pocket deep enough, the machine shop instructor at the university cut it on a cnc and I had it fine tuned by a luthier in Halifax. I was told that this is not an uncommon occurance. Anyway I ended up with the exact guitar I wanted, total build cost was a little over $1000.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts