The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10,476 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been playing fiddle tunes lately (I played them a lot 20 years ago but stopped for some reason) and I've been taking to them.

The gears started turning that I should rent a mandolin and be bad at more than one instrument.

L

·
0 Posts
I tried. The neck's too narrow and my fingers cramp up after 2 mins.
I've thought about getting a Squier mini and converting that into a mando.

·
Registered
3,225 Posts
Being a bass player first, I'm finally starting to be good on guitar after finding it way to small of an instrument to play...:eek: Now a Mandoline !!! :confused::confused::confused:

No F... way !!! ;)

·
Registered
6,337 Posts
I got one a couple of years ago and had about 5 songs going pretty good and could get some pickin happening but about a year ago I started playing electric so that kinda took over in addition to the acoustic stuff that I mainly do. Mandolin is fun and easy to sing with.

·
Registered
9,463 Posts
I had a ukulele at one point and could play a couple of tunes on it. It got lost in the shuffle when we moved. It’s quite easy to play.

·
Registered
18,560 Posts
I love the sound of a mandolin and will, one day add that to the instruments I play.

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
Once I stopped playing cover songs from the 70'2 and 80's I put it away and then in the 90's sold them to a few friends and gave some away today would be impossible to play any of them anymore so glad that they found new homes mind you I recently found a couple that were up for sale on a mandolin site and were worth some cash good on them.

·
Premium Member
11,063 Posts
A lot.

I tried it as a teenager but didn't get along with it because I foolishly figured I could tune it like a guitar to make it easier. Dumb move. Didn't try it again until my early
IMG_7946.jpg
IMG_7946.jpg
30s when I borrowed a bandmate's mandolin. A little more savvy this time, I left it tuned GDAE.