The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,039 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When I quit playing in '75, You had about as many choices as there were TV stations (about 18-20 with UHF). When I started playing last year, I noticed it hadn't changed (About 500+ channels though)

In Canada you still have Traynor as a large producer and high quality small builders like Peters, Edwards, Stephenson and Trinity ( my apologies for leaving anyone out). But in the U.S. (to a degree - Britain) there are more builders than lies told by Bush. It's mind boggling.

The guys I used to play with way back are now chartered accountans, quality control Engineers, born again carpenters, or dead, etc. And not livng where I am living, except the sax player. So I'm partly resigned to playing on my own in the basement with backing tracks, or recording for fun stuff and emailing it friends. Besides, I've also discovered how much I sucked back in '75 when I started, so I've still got a long ways to go.

I've also discovered real tone. Something I didn't pay much attention too back then (maybe it was the tweed tremolux and I didn't have to). I currently have a Marshall SS practice amp. I've changed the speaker which improved it 300%, but the tone still, um, I won't get into four letter words now. Even the Epi Valve combo I tried a few weeks ago was leagues ahead (even with that annoying hum with the volume set only at 10:30)

Now I know that Marshall knows tubes, but their small SS amps suck. It appears than Roland and Tech21 make the best SS, but still...

Where's all this going? Well, a tube amp, one that can be used in the basement without having the family revolt. I was thinking a Fender Pro Junior with pedals, but I've heard that it is very picky about pedals, especially at low volume.

I find I'm a fan of dirty tweed and marshall sounds. The guitars will be an Epi Riviera, MIJ, circa 1978 with Gibson '57s and a G&L Legacy Tribute (coming in June).