The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am building an 18 Watt Plexi (Trinity kit) in Burlington and I wondered if any of you either are or might know an amp tech relatively local to the city?

I have not run into any problems but as a noob, I thought it would be a good idea to have the amp checked and tested by a professional once I am done. Its an hour's work for which I am willing to pay.

Please PM me if you are interested or know someone of good reputation I could contact.

Peace and good tone to all.

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys. Cambridge is close enough. I'll contact Rob.

Cheers.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Those kits look nice, I'm sure you'll have fun building it (BTW I'm the guy that bought your MXR Eq).

I built a Mojotone 5e3 kit that came without instructions and had no issues or need for a tech. I just took my time so there were no mistakes.

Assuming you're knowledgeable in the use of multi-meters and probing around in a live high voltage circuit safely then you should be fine on your own. Some tips to follow:
  • Proper lead dress will help reduce noise/hum
  • Check every connection multiple times as you go along, then do it again after its done and make sure diodes and electrolytic caps are in the right orientation (positive/negative)
  • Check all your soldering, one crappy joint can cause issues
  • Check some of the voltages before putting the tubes in
  • For the first power up consider using a light bulb limiter (I built one, dead simple) as it will show whether there is a short in the amp before blowing any fuses or causing damage. Most people say to use a 100-150w bulb but for my 14w amp I think it was a 60w that worked best.
  • Check the circuit voltages after, if they're at spec you're good to go
  • Play it for a bit and you'll be able to tell by the sound if there are any issues or not.