The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Premium Member
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm a part-time amp designer/builder, and I'm gonna give away one of my latest designs at the end of January. I thought I'd provide some details here because I'd prefer this amp to go to someone in Canada. VIVA CANADA!!!

Everything will be run on my own website and announced on facebook (links below), but I'll post details here too if people are interested. Details on how to enter the amp giveaway will be given out 'officially' in the next 1-3 days.

The amp will not come with a head shell; it may or may not come with a full compliment of tubes - I'm currently talking to tube vendors for in-kind contributions.

Some history: I have run two or three "amp lottos" on another forum (interested folks could search the MyLesPaul Squawk Box for 'amp lotto'). The 'winner' of those amps actually had to pay about $400 (a pretty good deal). This time, the amp will be free, but the 'winner' will be asked to pay the actual shipping costs and will have to purchase a head shell (and possibly tubes) on his/her own.

I am really proud of the quality of this amp. I don't post gut shots any more, but I would say that the build quality is on par with offerings from top boutique brands (e.g., Wizard, Friedman, etc.). I don't do OCD right-angle wiring, but it's built like a tank and has a well-thought-out layout and grounding scheme. The circuit is unique. It is something that Marshall should have built in the 80s but never did.

Now some details about the amp itself:
- a pair of 6V6s (JJ or EH preferred) in power amp. Push-pull for 20 watts. Fixed bias with trim pot for each tube. Will also accept 6L6 (but not EL34)
- negative feedback loop with Presence and Body (aka resonance, depth) controls
- custom Heyboer PT and OT designed by Bruce Egnater for his seminar amps.
- Hammond choke
- 12V DC for preamp tubes